In the Middle of a Whirlwind

wine

Good morning from Starbucks,

While I do not normally have office hours this morning, I need to, if for no other reason than trying to catch up myself. While I had some idea that the fall would be rather full (my euphemism for totally crazy), I think I underestimated. I feel things slipping away and I am not sure how to get them back. Part of it might be the sinus infection that has plagued me (and I am serious about the plague-like quality of this particular iteration) for the better part of two weeks. I have hated my sinus tracks, my nose, my eyes, my head, my throat, my lungs, back, legs and even feet. Does that pretty much cover my entire body? All of it has hurt at some point.

We are into the fourth week of school and things are in full-swing. I am trying to just keep my nose (which does not allow me to breath anyway) above the surface. I am very happy with the students in my courses thus far. They are engaged and thinking. I am not a “memorization-regurgitation” type of person. That is not learning; that is not education. I am a “soak-it-up” and realize later that you learned a lot. This morning I was sitting in Starbucks and speaking with the manager. She gave me in a general way how much in revenue that Starbucks generates in a week. I was actually stunned. That is a boat-load of caffeine and banana bread. Holy Buckets!! I must admit, I contribute my fair share to that figure.

This week I am working on proofing a couple of grants and also trying to just get caught up. Over the next couple days I will be in Harrisburg for some meetings and by tomorrow night I will be in Ogden, UT. I will have the opportunity to see the Deckers. Only for a day, but it is worth it so Grace and I can celebrate the birthday we shared this past week. I have been at the AT&T store for Grace again this week. She and phones have a regular battle for superiority, and she regularly loses that battle.

The other thing I am trying to accomplish is get some long-term tasks at least organized and on the radar. That will be perhaps one of the most important things I can achieve. It will make the next few months both manageable and successful. That success has some important consequences. Sometimes I wonder if I am the only person who feels like the tail-is-wagging-the-dog, but I know that there are others for whom life is similar. Is it because I am not content to merely sit and have things pass me by? Is it my father’s words (Anyone can be average, that is why it is) ringing in my ears? I am currently not content to be average. There is so much more that one can do, can learn, can achieve, can experience.

Beginning this weekend, the Bloomsburg Fair opens. It is the largest fair in the state. Quite an accomplishment for a town of 12,000. Every imaginable thing you can eat to create a coronary is available. Last year, I think I went three times. That is not typical for me. I am not a fair person. I do not do rides and for the most part I do not eat most of the “stuff” that is available. I would much rather go to a Renaissance Fair. In fact, I think I need to see if there is one in the area. That might be my autumn get-away.

Well, I need to get back to blogs, discussion boards, resumes, cover letters, intros, conferences, meetings. . . . I think you have the idea. Thanks as always for reading.

Dr. Martin

Leave a Reply

