Taking a Break (from reading to doing)

Image

Good evening from my office,

Somehow, for the first time since I can remember, I actually had no clue that this morning was the beginning of the switch to daylight savings time. I am not sure how, but when I woke up and it was supposedly 9:00 a.m., I was astounded that I had slept that long. I might even go as far to say I wondered when the time might be changing, but I had no inkling that I had actually missed it. Then I got to the diner and heard about it at the infamous counter. The look of some of the regulars that I had missed it was rather amusing, maybe even priceless.

Today I have been reading student papers the entire day. I did just go out to get something to eat, which was a needed break and probably a good thing as I had not eaten since this morning. I have been really pleased overall with the thought that has gone into some of the papers. I have been generally pleased with the quality of some of the peer reviews. I think students worked really intentionally to provide helpful feedback to their colleagues. What has stumped me a bit is when students did not have a works cited page with their rough drafts. First, it is stated clearly in the syllabus; second, I mentioned it on numerous occasions during class. Third, there was a works cited assignment that was due before they even wrote their first draft, so how do you turn in a works cited page and then not use any of the sources in your paper? I am most confused!! Citation is certainly a problem and something that is so widespread that it is painfully evident that this is not being taught in the public school system nor is it being practiced on a regular basis.

I have been in contact with some former youth and a friend from my former state of Wisconsin. Along with another person here in Bloomsburg, I guess I can refer to them as “Tres Melissas” and between the three they cover the entire continent: Pennsylvania, Wisconsin and California. They are very different and yet all similar: All strong willed and yet unbelievably kind. The Greek mythological meaning is honey bee. I also looked up the meaning of the name and for them, it certainly rings true. I think about the fact that I have had more than one first name in my life time. What is interesting is that I have characteristics of both of the names, but the name Michael and the name Melissa have many of the same characteristics. I guess that would be an interesting thing because when I was speaking with one of the Melissas about colors, we had the same color also. It is interesting that all of this is out there and I wonder how it all fits together sometimes. I am reminded of a book I once read called The Celestine Prophecy and The Tenth Insight. I actually enjoyed both books because they made me think. I remember some people condemning me for dabbling in New Age Philosophy because I was a Lutheran pastor at the time. I do not believe God is that fragile. That is what I told people at the time.

As I work with the idea of a higher power, creator, God, or whatever other term some might be more attuned to, I am always amazed how we try to “own” this entity. He (or she) is OUR God. We too often believe we have some inside track to the creator and our agenda is God’s agenda. It is a bit laughable when you think about it with any degree of critical thought. Of course, my favorite philosophy professor would argue that any thought of God is a lack of critical thought, especially if you are to argue for such existence. I have found myself pondering all of that more than I might have imagined at one point in my life. When I am working on things, my brain is always going. Unfortunately, it seldom shuts down. That can be a problem. However, it always provides something interesting to ponder and examine.

Well, I need to get back to the papers, so this is a short entry, but it does give some insight into what I do when I am taking a break.

Thanks for reading as always.

Miguelito (as Marco calls me)

Leave a Reply

